The Guitar Gallery Forums - The Guitar Legacy of Matsumoku

Q&A, discussion, and information for the labels covered by The Guitar Gallery (Specifically and exclusively guitars made by Matsumoku up to 1987)
It is currently Thu 25 Apr 2024 05:02 PM

All times are UTC - 5 hours

[ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
PostPosted: Mon 01 Feb 2016 06:50 PM 
Power Chorder

Hello,

I am new to Aria Pro II guitars and have recently registered here although I have been reading this forum for quite some time

However I have years of experience exchanging guitars in diverse markets and I'd like to offer some info about how to determine what a guitar is worth - Aria Pro II or any model

When people ask what is a guitar worth I often see people recommend to go to eBay or Reverb and see what price people are listing them for to get a good assessment of what they are selling for

This is only partially correct

We are in a buyers market right now and due to a number of factors including the fact that the yen has now dropped in value to the extent where one dollar buys ¥121 versus under 80 not too long ago, ... Prices have changed...

The yen weakness has made the overall market go down although certainly there are some models where demand has increased to the point where the price has Easily outstripped the downward pressure due to currencies

The prices people ask for any guitar on eBay or reverb are often quite detached from the prices these guitars are actually selling at!!! true of any guitar - MIJ or not

So if you look at the prices that guitars are listed on eBay or reverb you can get a very inaccurate estimate as to what the average prices are or the price you can expect your guitar to sell at

The first metric many sellers use to price their guitar is to remember what they paid for it just a few years ago. Of course considering the above Currency changes and other factors that can be wildly ambitious in many cases or undervalue it in some cases