The Guitar Gallery Forums - The Guitar Legacy of Matsumoku

Q&A, discussion, and information for the labels covered by The Guitar Gallery (Specifically and exclusively guitars made by Matsumoku up to 1987)
It is currently Fri 29 Mar 2024 05:27 AM

All times are UTC - 5 hours

[ 10 posts ] 
 Post subject: Original CS-350 Pups?
PostPosted: Wed 05 Jan 2022 04:40 PM 
Prospective Member

Noob here, so please be kind... LOL
As I understand it, the CS pups were "DiMarzio Designed?" or DiMarzio clones? I just got a CS-350 that has a pair of EMGs in it with pull boost pots. I'm thinking of pulling that setup and going back to the "original" zebra buckers so I can wire back the coil and phase toggles. This is such a sick guitar so I can't imagine why someone would want to put these very nice but not proper EMGs in it.
Those EMGs sound cool AF, tho, so don't get me wrong. It's almost like having an onboard compressor or something... BUT you don't get the coil tap or phase switching like the stock version. These are active pups so I don't know if phasing or coil tapping will work, since I'm just a drummer and have no business holding such a fine guitar!!! LOL

PostPosted: Thu 06 Jan 2022 08:35 AM 
Virtuoso

Some Aria Pro II guitars did come with DiMarzio pickups but usually only high end models. The CS-350 was loaded with Protomatic V MMK-45 pickups which are very hard to find and due to the hype often far more expensive than they should be. That being said they were great sounding pickups.

Just about any pickups with 5 conductors (4 coil leads and ground/shield) will work. Once of our members, DerOnkel mapped out the wiring diagrams for Cardinal series and can be found at the following URL:

http://www.matsumoku.org/cm_models/2021 ... iagrams-2/

PostPosted: Fri 07 Jan 2022 11:43 AM 
Virtuoso

The MMK45's are often compared with the DiMarzio Super Distortions of the day, very gutsy and versatile with a resistance reading typically in the 11-14+ K range (they are ceramics).